Notice // Malta Book Festival 2017 Application Form is out

Category Archives: News @mt

The National Book Council has opened applications for exhibitors to participate in the upcoming edition of the Malta Book Festival 2017. As is customary, the Festival will be held in the first two weeks of November, 8-12, at the Mediterranean Conference Centre in Valletta. The application is open to all publishers, book distributors, bookshops and […]

The adjudication process for the National Book Prize started off last week with the first meeting of the Independent Board of Adjudication at the premises of the National Book Council in Floriana. The process of sorting out the entries and checking that each entry has been listed in the correct category took longer than usual […]

The National Book Council announces it has opened the Malta Book Fund today for the second time. The Fund, which carries a total value of 40,000 euros and is open to both writers and publishers, is comprised of two types of grants – publication and education grants, each grant carrying a maximum of 5000 euros. […]

  The National Book Council and l-Għaqda tal-Malti – Università would like to announce that preparations for the 4th edition of the Book Festival on Campus are underway. The festival will take place from 4 to 6 April 2017 and the opening hours are from 10 am to 3 pm and from 5 pm till late in […]

Aġenzija Żgħażagħ and the National Book Council would like to announce that the winners of the Literary Contest of Novels for Youth 2016 are Antoinette Borg with with her manuscript  ‘Żejt fil-Wiċċ’ and Matthew Schembri with ‘Stessi’. Antoinette Borg is the author of a published work ‘Fittixni’ (2016, Merlin Publishers) while Matthew Schembri has participated in Taħżiż, an […]

The National Book Council would like to announce that the preparatory work for the reading event in Librebook Bruxelles has been brought to an end today with the arrival of books of authors participating in the event. The authors are Alex Vella Gera and Loranne Vella, who will appear on Friday 17th March starting 18:00 […]

The National Book Council is happy to present its comprehensive Annual Report for 2016 – a year in which the contribution of the council to the local book scene reached a new level of intensity with the introduction of several new collaborations and innovative projects. As the council expands its scope and sets higher targets […]

The National Book Council would like to announce that for the third year in succession, it will participate in the upcoming London Book Fair 2017. Representatives of the council will be meeting publishers and literary agents to explore new venues and possibilities for translating and publishing Maltese literature beyond our shores. There will be presentations […]

The prize-giving ceremony for the Literary Contest ‘Novels for Youth’ 2016, set up by the National Book Council in collaboration with Aġenzija Żgħażagħ, will take place at ‘Youth Village’ Aġenzija Żgħażagħ at 6:30 in the evening on the 3rd of March 2017 and will be presided over by the Hon. Chris Agius, the Parliamentary Secretary […]

On 18th March, at Librebook-Bruxelles, a literary cafe in Brussels, two well-known and prize-winning authors will take part in an event set up by the National Book Council on occasion of Malta’s EU presidency. The event starts at 14:00 hours with Clare Azzopardi, who will be reading excerpts from her work Il-Qtates ta’ max-Xatt (2016, […]

Below please find the Winners of the ‘MONS’ AMANTE BUONTEMPO’ Poetry Contest 2016 as announced in an official ceremony on the 11th of November 2016, in Temi Zammit Hall, Mediterranean Conference Centre Valletta during the Malta Book Festival 2016: FIRST PRIZE – Louis Briffa with his poem ‘Falco Peregrinus’ SECOND PRIZE – Paul P. Borg with his poem ‘…bini […]

Malta Book Festival 2016 (9-13 NOV, MCC) Save the dates and spread the word! Artwork by ‘Julinu’

The Literary Prize was first set up in 1971 for books in Maltese published during the preceding year. Government’s aim was to encourage Maltese literature and to reward the year’s best authors. The first winners were Anton Buttiġieġ with his poetry collection ‘Fl-Arena’ and Francis Ebejer with ‘Id-Drammi Vol. 2’ which contained his three major […]