On Saturday the 7th of May, the National Book Council organised a small reception for everyone involved in the making of Beyond a Satin Sea and Tangerine Sky – two exciting collections bringing together translated selections of poetry and prose excerpts by the recipients of the National Book Prize for Poetry and Prose between 2001 and 2013.

The NBC is very happy with everyone’s contribution, service and dedication to the project executed in collaboration with Midsea Books Ltd. and Gutenberg Press Ltd.

Both anthologies were co-ordinated and edited by Terence Portelli and are already being distributed in several International Book Fairs and Festivals in a bid to promote Malta’s literature in translation.

Following is a list of Poets included in Tangerine Sky

John Aquilina – Josette Attard – Mario Azzopardi – Charles Bezzina – George Borg – Louis Briffa – Norbert Bugeja – Joseph Buttigieg – Victor Fenech – Joe P. Galea – Claudia Gauci – Albert Marshall – Immanuel Mifsud – Maurice Mifsud Bonnici – Achille Mizzi – Therese Pace – Joe Saliba – Joseph Sciberras

And these are the Authors included in Beyond a Satin Sea

Clare Azzopardi – Ġużè Bonnici – Paul P. Borg – Charles Casha – Victor Fenech – Oliver Friggieri – Pierre J. Mejlak – Immanuel Mifsud – Walid Nabhan – George Peresso – Mariella Pisani Bencini – Alfred Sant – Lino Spiteri – Ġużè Stagno – Alex Vella Gera – Javier Vella Sammut – Trevor Żahra

The NBC would also like to thank the following translators who contributed to both anthologies.

Albert Gatt – Anita Zammit – Alex Vella Gera – Claudia Gauci – Kenneth Wain – Norbert Bugeja – Rose Marie Caruana – Antoine Cassar – Mark Anthony Fenech – Anthony Aquilina – Walid Nabhan – Alfred Palma – Marlene Saliba – Patricia Gatt – Joseph Buttigieg – Maria Grech Ganado – Therese Friggieri – Saviour Pirotta – Irene Mangion


IMG_0311 IMG_0312 IMG_0314 IMG_0317 IMG_0322 IMG_0326 IMG_0328 IMG_0330

Share Article