The National Book Council would like to announce the winners of the National Book Prize 2015: Books 2014. The official prize giving ceremony took place on Friday the 11th of December 2015 at Auberge de Castille. National Book Prize participants were present alongside distinguished guests for official speeches by Hon. Prime Minister, Dr. Joseph Muscat and the Executive Chairman of the National Book Council, Mr. Mark Camilleri. Certificates were handed out to all shortlisted authors and their publishers and winners in every category recieved a trophy, certificate and a €1000 prize. The winner of the Literary Work: The Novel Category , that is, Mr. Immanuel Mifsud, received a €5000 grant courtesy of the Malta Arts Council’s Cultural Export Fund to fund the translation of the winning text Jutta Heim into a foreign language.
The adjudication board for this year’s edition of the National Book Prize was composed of:

Prof. Clare Vassallo, Dr Marco Galea and Dr.Norbert Bugeja for Literary Categories: Novel, Short Story, Poetry, Drama and Translation.

Prof. Victor Mallia Milanes, Mr Alex Farrugia and Mr Mario Ellul for Research Categories: General and Historiographic.

Prof. Charles Mifsud, Mr Andre’ Vella Laurenti and Mr David Muscat Azzopardi for Children and Adolescent Literature Categories of the Terramaxka Prize.

Ms. Cheryl Falzon and Ms. Joanne Sciberras also helped in the classification process.
Following are the winners in their respective categories:

Literary Work: The Novel Category

Jutta Heim by Immanuel Mifsud (Klabb Kotba Maltin)


Literary Work: Short Stories Category

Kulħadd ħalla isem warajh by Clare Azzopardi (Merlin Publishers)


Literary Work: Poetry Category

taħt il-kpiepel t’għajnejja by Maria Grech Ganado (Klabb Kotba Maltin)


General Research Category

The Maltese Nineteenth-Century Notary and his Archives by Michael Refalo (Book Distributors Limited)


Historiographic Research Category

The Social and Religious History of a Maltese Parish: St. Mary’s Qrendi in the Eighteenth Century by Frans Ciappara (Malta University Press)


Translation Category

Salammbȏ by Paul Zahra (Self Published)


Prize for the Best Book Production

The Maltese Bestiary by Merlin Publishers


Lifetime Achievement Award for Contribution to Maltese Literature

Maria Grech Ganado

IMG_0507 IMG_0515 IMG_0521 IMG_0524 IMG_0536 IMG_0540 images 12376604_10153725105807456_4720218724140553405_n - Copy PER_9268 copy - Copy PER_9282 copy - Copy PER_9295 copy - Copy PER_9306 copy PER_9309 copy PER_9319 copy PER_9343 copy PER_9351 copy PER_9354 copy PER_9367 copy PER_9374 copy PER_9358 copy PER_9363 copy PER_9382 copy PER_9395 copy PER_9402 copy PER_9417 copy PER_9422 copy PER_9448 copy PER_9471 copy PER_9474 copy PER_9496 copy.

Share Article