The National Book Council is inviting poets to participate in the first edition of the Doreen Micallef National Poetry Contest.

Applicants should submit a filled-in application form, and three copies of an original poem in the Maltese language, not exceeding 36 verses in length. Poems should only be signed by a nom de plume and must not have appeared in print before, be it in published anthologies or in journals. Poets cannot submit more than one entry. A complete list of regulations can be downloaded below.

Entries for the contest are to be sent or delivered to the National Book Council, Central Public Library, Prof. Joseph J. Mangion Street, Floriana FRN 1800, by no later than 23 August 2019.

A jury panel nominated by the National Book Council will be awarding the three poems that score the highest mark. In their evaluation of the entries the jury will apply a set of criteria taking into consideration a number of elements including authenticity, imagination, distinctiveness of voice, and original and inspiring use of rhythm and figures of speech. All participants are urged to download the criteria and study them carefully.

The winning poem will be awarded with a cash prize of € 1,000. The two runners-up will be receiving a voucher which can be redeemed in local bookshops. The jury panel reserves the right not to issue the awards if it deems submissions not to have reached the required standard. Members of the board or of the administration of the National Book Council are barred from participating in the Contest.

Contest winners will be announced and awarded their prize at an official ceremony on Friday 8 November during the 2019 Malta Book Festival.


Documents for download:

Contest Regulations

Application Form